Collection Links
Search our Catalog for books, movies, magazines and more in the library
Databases - find millions of articles and images using our e-resources
Research Tools - get help doing research, citing sources and more
Browse the Shelves
The books in the library are arranged by topic using Call Numbers. Here are some areas to explore:
N Visual arts (General)
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, design, illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts, applied art
NX Arts in general
TR Photography
Art History Research
Art History Databases
Full text:
Oxford Art Online - A good place to start your research. OAO is made up of reference sources such as the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. It provides biographies, entries on movements, art forms, media and more. Use their Bibliographies to jumpstart your research.
Art Full Text - Full text articles and citations back to 1929. This is perhaps our best e-resource for modern art - for the classics and the cutting edge.
JStor - Composed of full text articles from academic journals otherwise unavailable, JStor is invaluable for scholarly research.
DesignInform - Brief biographical entries on various types of designers as well as full text from early 20th century art and design journals.
Images:
ARTStor - Over a million images of works of art, artists, Magnum photographs and much more. Use the Zoom feature to save highly detailed jpegs.
Bridgeman Education - Over 360,000 images from museums, galleries and private collections.
Art Museum Image Gallery - Over 165,000 images of art from around the world, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day.
Citations:
ArtBibliographies Modern - Covers art and photography from the 19th century to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) -An international index to design and applied arts from the 19th century to the present.
Bibliography of the History of Art - The most comprehensive art bibliography available on Eurpean and American visual arts from antiquity to the modern era published between 1975 and 2007.
General databases - Full Text:
Academic Onefile - Our largest database, with full text access to 12,000 magazines and journals on a vast array of subjects.
Academic Search Elite - With full text access to over 2,100 magazines and journals in a broad range of topics.
Web Resources
- Art BabbleVideo showcase of high quality art from a variety of perspectives.
- ArtNetArt world news, images and auction records.
- Art21Acclaimed series from PBS highlighting important current artists and themes.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThe Met's online timeline to world art history
- Mother of All Art and Art History Links PagesU of Michigan's guide to web resources.
- SmARThistoryA multimedia guide to world art history.
- Web Resources for American ArtGuide from the Association of Historians of American Art
Art History Videos
My Profile |




Loading...
