Skip to main content
Banner Image

Film : Home

Film Production

Film History

Film Editing

Finding Film Reviews

*Film Reviews in the library*:

Looking for an original review of an older movie? Check the index of the collections below, or look up the release date in a source like IMDB.com to locate reviews:

New York Times Film Reviews. - 1913 to 1996 - PN1993.45 .N48 - Reference Stacks

Variety Film Reviews. -  1907 to 1995 - Location: PN1995 .V34 -  Reference Stacks

Film review annual. - 1988 - 1991  - PN1995.F465 -  Reference Stacks

 Life Magazine - 1936 - 1972Periodicals Stacks - (to search Life's archives online)

 

**Film Reviews through eResources**:

ProQuest Historical New York Times (1851-2009)

InfoTrac Newsstand (current N.Y. Times and over 2800+ other news sources) - Go to 'Advanced Search' and select "Reviews" from the 'By Document Type' menu to limit your results.

 Newspaper Source (articles from 200+ newspapers from around the country) - From the 'Search Options' box, select "Film Reviews" under 'Document Type'.

Academic Search Complete  - Thousands of publications from popular to scholarly. From the 'Search Options' box, select "Film Review"  under 'Document Type'.

Art Source - Hundreds of publications on art and related topics. From the 'Search Options' box, select "Film Review" and/or 'Film Criticism" (use Ctrl to select multiple types) under 'Document Type'.

Film & Television Literature Index - citations and some full text articles/reviews.

Directing / Cinematography

Finding Books

The Visual Arts Library has many books on film and animation.  Some subject searches to try are:

For general books on films and filmmaking:
CINEMATOGRAPHY (for the technical aspects of making motion pictures)
MOTION PICTURE ACTORS AND ACTRESSES
MOTION PICTURE AUTHORSHIP (for screenwriting)
MOTION PICTURE INDUSTRY
MOTION PICTURES (click Next to browse through the many subdivisions of film genres)
MOTION PICTURES HISTORY

For books on animation:
ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)
COMPUTER ANIMATION
ANIMATED FILMS

Magazines and Journals

Magazines and journals are great sources for current and historical information.  For articles on film and animation, it’s best to start with the indexes Film and Television Literature Index, Academic Search Elite, JStor, and Art Full Text.

The following is a list of magazines and journals on film and animation available at the Visual Arts Library:

American Cinematographer
Animation Magazine
Aspect*
AV Video Multimedia Producer
Camera Obscura
CGW
Cineaste
Cinefantastique
Cinefex
Cinema Journal
Computer Arts
Creative Screenwriting
Digital Video (DV)
Entertainment Design
Entertainment Weekly
Film & History
Film Comment
Film Journal International
Film Quarterly
Filmmaker
Independent Film & Video Monthly
Interview
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Journal of Short Film*
Literature Film Quarterly
Millennium
Millimeter
Moviemaker
Post
Quarterly Review of Film & Video
Res
Rue Morgue
Sight & Sound
Stash*
StudentFilmMakers
Wholphin

 

*DVD periodicals

On the Web

American Film Institute - www.afionline.org
Digital Librarian: Movies - www.digital-librarian.com
Film Festivals Server - www.filmfestivals.com
Internet Movie Database - www.imdb.com
New York Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre & Broadcasting - www.nyc.gov/html/film/
P.O.V. Interactive - www.pbs.org/pov/
Student Filmmakers - Student Filmmakers
UC Berkeley Film Studies Resources - www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/filmstudies/index.html
Writers Guild of America - www.wga.org/

Reviews
Metacritic - www.metacritic.com/
Movie Review Query Engine - www.mrqe.com/
Rotten Tomatoes - www.rottentomatoes.com/

Animation
Animation World News - www.awn.com/
ASIFA-Hollywood Animation Archive - www.animationarchive.org
Cartoon Brew - www.cartoonbrew.com
Cartoon Research - www.cartoonresearch.com
Don Markstein's Toonopedia - www.toonopedia.com
Librarian's Guide to Anime and Manga - www.koyagi.com/Libguide.html
Origins of American Animation - memory.loc.gov/ammem/oahtml/oahome.html

Subject Guide

David Pemberton
Contact:
212-592-2664
Website / Blog Page

Collection Links

Film Criticism

Screenwriting