This is the "Home" page of the "Graphic Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graphic Design  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2014 URL: http://sva.libguides.com/graphicdesign Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collection Links

Search our Catalog for books, movies, magazines and more in the library

Databases - find millions of  articles and images using our e-resources

Research Tools - get help doing research, citing sources and more

 

Browse the Shelves

The books in the library are arranged by topic using Call Numbers. Here are some areas to explore:

HD Corporate identity
HF 5570 Package design
HF 5800-6161 Advertising
N General art, Art history, artists
NC Commercial art & graphic design
NC 730-825 Technique, drawing
NC 845-915 Materials, including airbrush
NC 950-975 Illustration, including annuals
NC 1000-1001.6 Commercial art, promotion
NC 1002-1003 Specific types of advertising art (brochures, business cards, fliers, logos, menus)
NC 1800-1850 Poster design
NC 1860-1896 Cards, book & CD jackets
ND Painting (History & Technique)
NE Print media, engraving, prints, letterheads
NK Design & decorative arts
NX Arts in general
T 223-305: Logos & trademarks
T 385-TD193 Computer graphics
TK 5105.888 Web design
TR Photography
TS 195.4 Package design
TT Crafts, e.g. Origami, paper work
Z Printing & production, typography

 

Design Magazines

Baseline 
Location: Periodical Stacks

CMYK 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Communication Arts 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Computer Arts 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Dot Dot Dot 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Elephant 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Eye 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Grafik : journal of the best in international graphic design 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Graphic Design USA 
Location: Periodical Stacks

How 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Lurzer's Int'l Archive 
Location: Periodical Stacks

National Grid 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Novum : das Forum für Kommunikations-Design 
Location: Periodical Stacks

One 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Print 
Location: Periodical Stacks

SEGDdesign 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Slanted : typography/Design 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Stash - DVD 
Location: Periodical Stacks

Step Inside Design 
Location: Periodical Stacks

 

Databases

Art and Design:
Art Source - Full text articles and citations back to 1929. This is perhaps our best e-resource for modern art - for the classics and the cutting edge.

DesignInform- Brief biographical entries on various types of designers as well as full text from early 20th century art and design journals.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) -An international index to design and applied arts from the 19th century to the present.

Oxford Art Online- A good place to start your research. OAO is made up of reference sources such as the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. It provides biographies, entries on movements, art forms, media and more. Use their Bibliographies to jumpstart your research.

Images:
ARTStor - Over a million images of works of art, artists, Magnum photographs and much more. Use the Zoom feature to save highly detailed jpegs.

Art Museum Image Gallery - Over 165,000 images of art from around the world, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day.

Cinema Image Gallery - Features hundreds of thousands of pictures (film stills and behind the scenes photos), posters, video clips, and other material from the world of film and television from the late 19th century to the present day.

General databases - Full Text:
Academic Onefile - Our largest database, with full text access to 12,000 magazines and journals on a vast array of subjects.

Academic Search Complete - With full text access to over 9,100 magazines and journals in a broad range of topics.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Pemberton
Contact Info
212-592-2664
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip