Collection Links
Search our Catalog for books, movies, magazines and more in the library
Databases - find millions of articles and images using our e-resources
Research Tools - get help doing research, citing sources and more
Browse Books
The books in the library are arranged by topic using Library of Congress classification system. Here are a few call number ranges to explore:
TR1-1050 Photography
TR510-545 Color photography
TR624-835 Applied photography
TR845-899 Cinematography
TR925-1050 Photomechanical processes
Subject Search
For Subject searches try:
Photography --History.
Photography --History and criticism.
Photographic criticism.
Photography --Philosophy.
Photography, Artistic --Exhibitions.
To do Keyword searches, you can either use add terms or use phrases.
Searching for Photographic criticism?
Test out photographic AND criticism or "photographic criticism" as searches and see what you can find.
Browse Images
The Library's Picture Collection contains more than 100,000 images clipped from magazines and other sources and filed alphabetically according to subject. Up to 50 pictures (10 per subject) may be checked out of the library.
Picture Collection Subject Headings
Another place to take a gander is our electronic resources, which includes:
AP Images
ARTstor
Bridgeman Education
NYPL Digital Gallery
And don't forget the Visual Resources Center.
Approximately 165,000 slides, as well as, a growing collection of digital images can be found here. The Center is open to students weekdays between 3 - 5:00 pm.
Periodicals
A number of magazines and journals on photography are available at the Visual Arts Library. Also for articles on photography, you may want to start with indices such as JSTOR, Academic Search Elite & Vogue Archive or peruse a few serials below.
Women Photographers
Women have made significant contributions to photography since its inception. Here are some artists to browse:
History
Looking for books tracing the origins and progression of photography from its humble beginnings in daguerreotypes to the gradual mastering of photographic portraits, techniques, and negatives.
Criticism
Interested in various titles with collections of essays, reviews, and lectures.
Subject Guide |
Suggest a Purchase
If you would like to request that the Library purchase a book or DVD for the collection please email the following information:
- Author (required)
- Title (required)
- ISBN / ASIN
- Place, Publisher, Year
- Source of Information
- Your Name (required)
- SVA ID Number (required)
- Email Address (required)
to lsalmon1@sva.edu. Thank you!
New York New York
From iconic landmarks like the Flatiron Building and Times Square to the visual poetry of New York City's streets and skyline...
Miscellaneous Web sites
Noteworthy pages to expand your search:
- Aperture
- Blindspot
- Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University
- The Correspondence of William Henry Fox Talbot
- The Daguerreian Society
- The Getty
- George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film
- International Center of Photography (ICP)
- Library of Congress - American Memory
- Light Work
- Magnum Photos
- Museum of Modern Art - Photography
- New York Public Library - Photo Collection
- New York Public Library - Picture Collection Online
- SF Camerawork




























Loading...
