Branding: Home
MPS Branding Departmental Representative
Magazines / Periodicals
Highlights from the print periodicals collection:
Ad AgeCall Number: Periodicals Stacks
Communication ArtsCall Number: Periodicals Stacks
CritiqueCall Number: Periodicals Stacks
Eye MagazineCall Number: Periodicals Stacks
Eye on DesignCall Number: Periodicals Stacks
Graphic Design USACall Number: Periodicals Stacks
Library Resources
- Prism CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
- A-Z DatabasesFind millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
- Research Tools & Information LiteracyA guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.
Books
Highlights from the book collection:
Designing Brand Identity by Call Number: HD69.B7 W44 2013ISBN: 9781118099209Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Power branding: leveraging the success of the world's best brands by Call Number: HF5415.1255 .M42 2014Publication Date: 2014
Taken by surprise: cutting-edge collaborations between designers, artists and brands by Call Number: NC997 .S56 2012Publication Date: 2012
Design Annuals
Find design annuals in the reference section of the Main Library:
Art Director's AnnualCall Number: NC997.A1 A69 - REF
CreativityCall Number: NC997 .A682 - REF
D & ADCall Number: NC998.6.G7 D47 - REF
GraphisCall Number: NC997.A1 G7373 - REF
The One ShowCall Number: NC1001.5 .O53 - REF
Streaming Video
Search for documentaries on your subject in the streaming video databases below. Try using general search terms like "branding" - or something specific like name of your favorite designer - to start exploring.
- Art & Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video is an online streaming film collection with 690 videos containing over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowContains documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
Online Resources
Online Databases:
- AdForum Creative Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive library of over 200,000 award-winning ads. - Exact Editions Magazines This link opens in a new window
A web and app solution for complete digital magazine archives, including Aesthetica, AnOther, Another Man, Art Monthly, Cineaste, Cover, Creative Review, Dazed, Foam, and Sight & Sound.
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
SVA Library subscribes to over 40 popular magazines, including art and design titles, accesible via browser or the Flipster app. - Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Includes detailed company and industry news and information, financial reports, comparison charts, SWOT reports, market share reports, and more.
Online Journals
Clicking the titles below will lead you to the library catalog, where you will find the links to these online journals. Enter your SVA credentials when prompted.
Web Resources
Advertising history:
- Ad*Access
- Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History
- Emergence of Advertising in America 1850-1920
- The Advertising Archives
- Adflip
Industry News:
- AdAge
- Adweek
- Brand Republic
- Branding Journal
- Creativity
- Interactive Advertising Bureau
- Top Interactive Agencies
Associations: