Skip to main content
 

Archival Research for Design & Illustration: Home

Learn about archival resources at SVA and beyond that will enrich your work as a designer and illustrator.

Archivist

Beth Kleber's picture
Beth Kleber
Contact:
380 Second Ave, 2nd floor
212.592.2636
Website

Great NYC Archives

Archival Design Collections Outside of NYC

Milton Glaser Design Study Center and Archives at SVA

The Milton Glaser Design Study Center and Archives + the SVA Archives are unique resources to study the work of the great designers, illustrators and art directors who’ve taught and studied at SVA. The collections allow visitors to examine the design and illustration process, from conception to completion, through original sketches, artwork, and photographs, as well as the final posters and publications, from more than twenty giants of art and design:

Gail Anderson

Ed Benguiat

Ivan Chermayeff & Tom Geismar

Seymour Chwast

Stephen Doyle

Heinz Edelmann

Roger Ferriter

Louise Fili

Cris Gianakos

Milton Glaser

Keith Godard

Steven Heller

David Mazzucchelli

Ed McCabe

James McMullan

Tony Palladino

Stefan Sagmeister

Paul Sahre

Deborah Sussman

George Tscherny

Fred Troller

Henry Wolf

The Archives is also a place to study the history of SVA, from its subway poster campaign, to its groundbreaking exhibitions by professional and student artists, to the faculty and programs dating back its founding in 1947. Students just need to contact Archives staff to make an appointment: archives@visualartsfoundation.org or 212.592.2636.

Find out more about our collections here.

Visit our Instagram feed to see some of the great stuff in our collections.

Read our blog, Container List.

Locating Archival Material

Use these resources to locate physical archival collections anywhere in the world.

WorldCat: Massive catalog of library holdings around the world. Use the Advanced Search feature and limit format to "Archival Material" to find archival collections

ArchiveGrid: Aggregates more than four million records of archival collections from more than 1,000 institutions.

Digital Resources - a wealth of materials available to you without getting out of your chair