Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note that resources in subscription databases may be accessed from anywhere by current SVA students, faculty and staff. Alumni and CE students do not have access.
A full list of article databases can be found here.
ProQuest Central Ejournals
ProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Art & Architecture Source
Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
An international index to design and applied arts journals covering both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center database of the U.S. Department of Education, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
Gale Literature Criticism (Literature Criticism Online)
Full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 300 scholarly journals and literary magazines covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (Health Reference Center Academic)
Use this database to find articles on: Mental illness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Gale OneFile: News (Infotrac Newsstand)
Search this database for full text access to major national newspapers including the New York Times from 1985 to present. Includes over 2,300 full-text newspapers.
Gale OneFile: Science (General Science Collection)
A collection of over 1,000 peer reviewed journals in the sciences providing millions of research articles from 1980 to the present.
A full text scholarly database of 150 titles focused on the arts and humanities. The Arts & Sciences III collection includes articles from journals on the history and study of art and architecture, film studies, language and literature, music, folklore, performing arts, and religion.
Oxford Grove Art Online
Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded regularly in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.