Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note that resources in subscription databases may be accessed from anywhere by current SVA students, faculty and staff. Alumni and CE students do not have access.
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
Swank is a streaming film platform with a curated list of available films from major motion picture studios.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
EAI Educational Streaming
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. Full-length streaming videos are available for over 60 artists, with more being added.
Art & Architecture in Video
Art and Architecture in Video is an online streaming film collection with 690 videos containing over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.
Drama Online - BBC Drama Collection
This collection features stunning film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare, to Oscar Wilde, Henrik Ibsen, August Strindberg, Bernard Shaw and contemporary writers, Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall. Note: the SVA Library only subscribes to the BBC Drama collection; other materials in Drama Online are not accessible.
Library Stack is a database and archive of digital arts publications, including ebooks, PDFs, apps, music and video from the fields of contemporary art, critical theory, political science, sociology, architecture, urbanism, graphic design and film studies. It has a particular focus on hybrid works: experimental podcasts, custom type-faces, exhibitions bundled into .zip folders, serial journals, collaborative scholarship initiatives and artists’ software.
Television Academy Interviews
This site makes available more than 850 videotaped interviews with television industry professionals who work in front of and behind the camera, chronicling the television industry from its earliest days to the present.
UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, film and sound art mp3 archives.
Sourced from the historically significant archives of the Video Data Bank, VDB TV includes work from early video pioneers active in the 1960s and 70s, through to emerging contemporary artists.