How to Download Ebooks from SVA Library: On an E-Reader Tablet
Instructions
Create an Adobe ID
Download and install the Bluefire Reader to your Kindle Fire.
Before you download, you will need to enable "allow installation of applications that are not from Appstore" on your Kindle Fire. Where you find this on your Kindle varies by device. See instructions from Bluefire.
Once you've downloaded, select Open.
Select Install and authenticate with your Adobe ID.
You may need to download your book to a computer with Adobe Digital Editions before you can open it in Bluefire Reader.
Download Adobe Digital Editions for your computer.
Follow our instructions for downloading ebooks to your computer.
Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer via USB. Your Kindle will appear in Adobe Digital Editions. Drag ebooks into your device in the Adobe Digital Editions interface.
These are general instructions for most other commericially available e-readers. Note that your e-reader must support the EPUB file format to download EBSCO ebooks.
Create an Adobe ID
Download Adobe Digital Editions for your computer.
Follow our instructions for downloading ebooks to your computer.
Connect your e-reader to your computer via USB. Your device will appear in Adobe Digital Editions. Drag ebooks into your device in the Adobe Digital Editions interface.
Ebook Databases
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central's Academic Complete collection contains over 207,000 multidisciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.
- ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book is an online, fully searchable collection of over 5,500 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals.
*Note that most ACLS Humanities ebooks cannot be downloaded and must be read in the database interface with an Internet connection.
- Open Access Monograph Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a DRM-free collection of thousands of Open Access ebooks from university presses and scholarly publishers including University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.
