Skip to main content
 

SVA Library Catalog Migration Project: Home

What's happening?

‚ÄčThe SVA Library is making changes to the way you search for and interact with library materials online. All changes will go live in December 2019:

  1. Migrating the catalog of physical items to a modern cloud-based system
  2. Moving database authentication to SSO with OpenAthens
  3. Changing some ebook and ejournals database subscriptions

Got a question about these changes? Ask us!

1. Catalog Migration

The library is migrating its outdated Vision catalog software and One Search discovery interface to new cloud-based software. The new catalog and discovery interface, collectively being called Prism, are built to work together seamlessly and will provide a more intuitive experience for searching and interacting with library materials from library.sva.edu. Users will be able to search for materials via the search box on the library website without interruption before and after the migration.

2. Database Authentication

Starting in December, users will authenticate into library databases via OpenAthens single sign-on. OpenAthens will integrate with SVA's myID single sign-on, eliminating the need to login to library databases separately from other SVA web apps. Users do not need to take any action.

3. Database Subscription Changes

Some of the library's current ebook and ejournal databases will not be discoverable in the new Prism interface, so the library is changing providers. These changes result in a huge overall gain in content. The databases being canceled will be available until December 31, 2019. The links provided to New Subscriptions are database info sheets only; live database links will be available starting December 1, 2019 on the library's A-Z Databases page.

 

Canceling New Subscriptions
EBSCO Academic Search Complete Ejournals (18,000 titles) ProQuest Central Ejournals (30,000 titles)
EBSCO Business Source Elite Ejournals (6,600 titles) Academic Complete Ebooks (150,000 titles)
EBSCO Academic Ebook Collection (150,000 titles) Academic Video Online (68,000 streaming videos)
  American Film Institute Catalog (60,000 film entries)