Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Researching an AAPI artist or arts movement? Below are some examples of scholarly articles that can be found in the databases available to you from the SVA Library.
A New Face for an Old Fight: Reimagining Vietnam in Vietnamese-American Graphic Memoirs
Earle, Harriet E. H. 2018. “A New Face for an Old Fight: Reimagining Vietnam in Vietnamese-American Graphic Memoirs.” Studies in Comics 9 (1): 87–105. doi:10.1386/stic.9.1.87_1.
Maya Lin: Building Nature
Lebowitz, Cathy. “Maya Lin: Building Nature.” Art in America 96, no. 5 (October 2008): 152–57.
Noguchi, Sculptural Abstraction, and the Politics of Japanese American Internment
Lyford, Amy. “Noguchi, Sculptural Abstraction, and the Politics of Japanese American Internment.” The Art Bulletin 85, no. 1 (2003): 137–51. https://doi.org/10.2307/3177330.
Roger Shimomura: An American Artist
Goodyear, Anne Collins. “Roger Shimomura: An American Artist.” American Art 27, no. 1 (2013): 70–93. https://doi.org/10.1086/670685.
Some Thoughts on National and Cultural Identity: Art by Contemporary Japanese and Japanese American Artists
Higa, Karin. “Some Thoughts on National and Cultural Identity: Art by Contemporary Japanese and Japanese American Artists.” Art Journal 55, no. 3 (1996): 6–13. https://doi.org/10.2307/777760.
Scholarly Article Databases
Try beginning your article search in the following databases:
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full text scholarly database of 150 titles focused on the arts and humanities. The Arts & Sciences III collection includes articles from journals on the history and study of art and architecture, film studies, language and literature, music, folklore, performing arts, and religion.
Oxford Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded regularly in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.
ProQuest Central Ejournals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 12,000 periodicals with millions of articles available in full-text covering the arts, sciences and humanities.