Antiracist Resources: Articles
News Sources
- Gale OneFile: NewsThis is a searchable database with full text access to major national newspapers. It includes "topic finder" tool to search across publications.
- GothamistA subsidiary of New York Public Radio, Gothamist has been providing live coverage of the NYC protests.
- New York Times OnlineRegister with your SVA email address to receive full access to the NYTimes Online on your smartphone, tablet, or desktop browser.
Essays & Articles
- The 1619 ProjectThe 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
- An Antiracist Reading List by Ibram X. KendiPublished in The New York Times on May 19, 2019.
- Building A Police-Free Future: Frequently Asked QuestionsIn English and Spanish. This link leads to the text and a PDF of a one-page zine.
- The Case for Reparations by Ta-Nehisi CoatesPublished in The Atlantic in 2014.
- BLM Resources from Exact EditionsExact Editions has partnered with a number of publishers to assemble an extensive list of articles from archived digital issues in support of the Black Lives Matter movement, spanning a wide range of topics from literature and music to politics and activism. All of these articles have been made freely available to view via the Exact Editions site.
- White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack by Dr. Peggy McIntoshPublished in 1989, this essay has become a foundational resource for raising awareness around white privilege.
Article databases
Interested in further research? The SVA Library provides access to article databases and online journals to support your inquiry. Find a few options below and reach out to us at library@sva.edu for more recommended resources.
- ProQuest Central Ejournals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full text scholarly database of 2,800 multidisciplinary journal titles focused on the arts, humanities and social sciences. **Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform as of August 1, 2024** Artstor images document artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images. Users must create a personal account.
