Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
Find millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
Research Tools & Information Literacy
A guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.
Art and Feminism
We are students, librarians, professors, artists, art workers, and art lovers who create meaningful changes to the body of knowledge available about women on Wikipedia.
Heresies PDF Archive
The archive of the feminist art collective, The Heresies, published from 1977-1993.
An archive consisting of many kinds of objects (posters, flyers, publications, photographs, books, T-shirts and buttons, moving images, audio recordings, and other materials) that are created as part of social movements by the participants themselves.
A rare, and rather complete collection of the early films made by Newsreel (aka: Camera News Inc.) in the late 1960's. This body of work is available, both on Beta, 3/4 inch and VHS formats. The majority of the archives are concerned with the political movements of the '60's through '80's.
A non-profit store that circulates over 32,000 publications annually on behalf of artists and small presses.
Founded in 1988, Visual AIDS is the only contemporary arts organization fully committed to raising AIDS awareness and creating dialogue around HIV issues today, by producing and presenting visual art projects, exhibitions, public forums and publications - while assisting artists living with HIV/AIDS. We are committed to preserving and honoring the work of artists with HIV/AIDS and the artistic contributions of the AIDS movement. We embrace diversity and difference in our staff, leadership, artists and audiences.
Design of Dissent Collection
Located in the Milton Glaser Design Study Center and Archives at SVA Library, this collection contains design objects that were part of an exhibition organized by Mirko Ilic and Milton Glaser in 2005. The Archives are open to everyone by appointment.
Design of Dissent by
Call Number: NX650.P6 G53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
The corresponding book to the archives' Design of Dissent Collection.
Streaming films provided through our subscription to Kanopy require login with your SVA credentials.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.