Subscription databases may be accessed from anywhere by current SVA students, faculty and staff. Alumni and CE students do not have access.
Prism SearchThis link opens in a new windowSearch all of the library's physical and most of the library's digital holdings at once.
SVA Library CatalogThis link opens in a new windowSearch for physical items, like books, DVDs, Blurays, comics, and magazines in the SVA Library.
Art & Architecture SourceThis link opens in a new windowFormerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA full text scholarly database of 150 titles focused on the arts and humanities. The Arts & Sciences III collection includes articles from journals on the history and study of art and architecture, film studies, language and literature, music, folklore, performing arts, and religion.
ProQuest Central EjournalsThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowEbook Central's Academic Complete collection contains over 207,000 multidisciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.
ArtstorThis link opens in a new windowDocuments artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images and continues to grow. Users must create a personal account.
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
SwankThis link opens in a new windowSwank is a streaming film platform with a curated list of available films from major motion picture studios.
Westar Music & Sound IdeasThis link opens in a new windowWestar Music allows you to download over 300,000 tracks of Production Music, Production Elements and Sound Ideas sound effects in your choice of mp3 and Broadcast WAV files. All new releases are immediately posted on the site and we release thousands of new tracks every year.
Sound Ideas offers sound effects and production elements for television, film sound design, game development, post-production, interactive media and any other professional or educational audio production use you can imagine.
Oxford Grove Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowGrove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded regularly in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The A&AePortal platform features authoritative scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design, and also provides invaluable content in related disciplines, such as African American studies, religious studies, women’s studies, environmental studies, and visual culture. It contains 300 titles across 25 subject areas and 60,000 associated images.
Encyclopedia Britannica contains 100K articles; 123K quotes from notable writers; and access to 700K definitions in Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Users outside New York State should contact firstname.lastname@example.org for login credentials.
Containing original essays, profiles, and object analyses primarily authored by racialized and minoritized scholars and writers, the Fashion and Race and Database provides a roadmap for lasting change in the fashion system, as it offers lessons and resources that diversify how we understand fashion. Users will need to create a personal account.
The complete digital, interactive edition of Josef Albers' seminal work, Interaction of Color. With an additional 60 plates from the 1963 Complete Edition, this new digital edition is also packed with elegant and innovative features that help users explore the book's essential concepts and experiment with color the way Albers intended. Users need to create a personal account to access the content.
Projectr, a streaming platform launched by Grasshopper Films, partners with educational institutions and public libraries throughout North America to present a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world.