Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comics - SVA Alumni Books
Comics - Current Faculty Books
Comics - Online Comic Repositories
Comic Books & Graphic Novels Collection at The Internet Archive
This large database provides access to manga, comic books and books on technique. The non-profit organization Internet Archive is dedicated to preserving valuable texts, files, and websites for future research.
Andy's Early Comics Index
Survey focusing on pre-20th century comics.
Comic Book Plus
Extensive database of Gold and Silver Age comics. Also includes comic strips, pulp fiction, fanzines, and related works.
Digital Comic Museum
Digital scans of thousands of public domain comics ranging from the birth of comics until the 70s.
The Pulp Magazines Project
An open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study of pulp magazines. Contains high-quality, cover-to-cover digital facsimiles.
The Pulp Magazine Archive
Large repository of pulp magazines maintained by The Internet Archive.
Comics - Bibliographic Comics Databases
Disabled Cartoonists Database
The Cartoonists of Color, Queer Cartoonists, and Disabled Cartoonists databases were created and are maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators.
Women Who Draw
Women Who Draw is an open directory of female* professional illustrators, artists and cartoonists. It was created by two women artists in an effort to increase the visibility of female illustrators, emphasizing female illustrators of color, LBTQ+, and other minority groups of female illustrators. *WWD is trans-inclusive and includes women, trans and gender non-conforming illustrators.
Grand Comics Database
Largest databases of comic books on the Internet, the Grand Comics Database indexes over a million issues from around the world.
The DC Comics Database
Specialized database dedicated to DC Comics. This site provides information about DC storylines across media formats, including comic books, television, and film adaptations.
Marvel Comics Database
A similar database for Marvel Comics.
Comiclopedia, an illustrated compendium
An illustrated compendium of over 14,000 comic artists and comics industry professionals from around the world.
Comics - Newspaper Comic Strips History
The Comics, the complete collection by
Call Number: PN6725 .W25 2011
Brian Walker's two comprehensive guides to American comics, The Comics Before 1945 and The Comics Since 1945, are combined here in one omnibus edition. Organized by decade, with biographical profiles of artists and analysis of the different comics genres.
SCREWBALL! the Cartoonists Who Made the Funnies Funny by
Call Number: PN6710 .T86 2019
The story of screwball comics, with new research and rare art from some of the most hilarious cartoonists of all time. Before "screwball" became a movie genre, it was a staple of other forms of American culture, including newspaper comic strips. Emerging from the pressures of a rapidly accelerating technological and information-drenched society, screwball comics offered a healthy dose of laughter and perspective. The disruptive, manic, and surreal verbal-visual comedy of these "funnies" fostered an absurdist sensibility embraced by The Marx Brothers (who took their names from a popular comic strip), W. C. Fields, Tex Avery, Spike Jones, Ernie Kovacs, and Mad magazine. Comics scholar Paul C. Tumey traces the development of screwball as a genre in magazine cartoons and newspaper comics, presenting the lives and work of around two dozen cartoonists, with an art-stuffed chapter on each.
Comics - Technique
How to Draw Noir Comics by
Call Number: NC1764.H69 M37 2007
Comic book, graphic novel illustrator and SVA graduate Shawn Martinbrough, known for his cinematic, high contrast noir style; demonstrates how to set a mood, design characters and locations, stage action and enhance drama, and discusses important topics like page layout, panel design, and cover design. This is the definitive instructional book on noir comics.
Framed Perspective Vol. 1 by
Call Number: PN 6710 .M38 2016
Accessible but extensive step-by-step lessons. Highly recommended by multiple cartooning instructors.
Framed Perspective Vol. 2 by
Call Number: PN 6710 .M38 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Builds on the foundation established with the first book in the series.
The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics by
Call Number: NC1764 .J36 2002
Longtime SVA comics instructor, Klaus Janson brings his over 30 years of experience as a major force in mainstream comics to the most critical step of comic book storytelling: penciling! Covering everything from anatomy to composition to page design.
The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics by
Call Number: NC1764 .J359 2003
SVA instructor and iconic comic book artist Klaus Janson demonstrates an array of inking techniques, covering such topics as using textures, varying line weights, creating the illusion of three-dimensionality, and working with light and dark. This one-stop book is packed with a wealth of his time tested techniques, practical advice, and professional secrets.
Pro Tip: Klaus is widely praised for his beautiful penciling but within the industry, he is also known as one of the best and most sought after inkers period.
The Art of the Graphic Memoir by
Call Number: PN6714 .H37 2018
A poignant and instructive guide detailing the tenets of artistry and story-telling inherent in the graphic memoir medium. With over two dozen professional examples and a deep-dive into his own genre defining work, Tom encourages readers to hone their own signature style in the best way to represent their journeys on the page.
The DC Comics Guide to Creating Comics by
Call Number: PN6710 .P68 2013
Essential resource for comics creators looking to make intriguing, action-packed comics. Offers a unique behind-the-curtain look at the DC Comics creative process.
Drawing Words and Writing Pictures by
Call Number: NC1764 .A25 2012
Drawing Words and Writing Pictures is structured as a course on comic creation that centers on storytelling and concludes with making a finished comic. With chapters on lettering, story structure, and panel layout, the fifteen lessons offered - each complete with homework, extra credit activities and supplementary reading suggestions - provide a solid introduction for anyone interested in making their own comics. Additional resources, lessons, and after-class help are available on the DW-WP website. Based on classes they taught here at SVA.
Framed Ink by
Call Number: PN 6710 .M38 2010
The ultimate guide to visual storytelling! How to make the audience ""feel"" the story while they are ""reading"" the story. Using his experiences from working in the comic book industry, movie studios and teaching, Marcos introduces the reader to a step-by-step system that will create the most successful storyboards and graphics for the best visual communication. After a brief discussion on narrative art, Marcos introduces us to drawing and composing a single image, to composing steady shots to drawing to compose for continuity between all the shots. These lessons are then applied to three diverse story lines - a train accident, a cowboy tale and bikers approaching a mysterious house. In addition to setting up the shots, he also explains and illustrates visual character development, emotive stances and expressions along with development of the environmental setting to fully develop the visual narrative.
Comics and Sequential Art by
Call Number: NC1764.E47 1990
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Eisner presents the principles of graphic storytelling in this guide, which is based on and shares its title with the comics course he taught here at SVA. Readers will learn the basic anatomy, fundamentals of story craft and how the medium works as a means of expression. Pro Tip: Eisner coined the phrase sequential art as applied to the comics medium and was the first to approach comics as an art form.
Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative by
Call Number: PN6710.E57 1996
A companion to Comic & Sequential Art: the principles examined in that title are applied to the process of graphic storytelling. Eisner shows artists, film-makers, writers and designers how to craft stories in a visual medium. Based on Eisner's SVA class of the same name. Pro Tip: Eisner had a profound influence on filmmaking. Read the early Spirit comics and then watch Citizen Kane and you will see what I mean.
Expressive Anatomy for Comics and Narrative by
Call Number: PN6710 .E57 2008
The final volume of Will Eisner's instructional trilogy explores the critical principle of body grammar in comics storytelling. Designed and outlined by Will Eisner before his death in 2005, this posthumous work, reveals the secrets of Eisner's own techniques and theories of movement, body mechanics, facial expressions, and posture: the key components of graphic storytelling.
The DC Comics Guide to Digitally Drawing Comics by
Call Number: NC1764 .W55 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Twelve years on and this is still the definitive book on digital comics. Williams is a leader in digital penciling and inking; and here, in clear, step-by-step directions. Creating a template, sketching on the computer, penciling, and inking digitally are all covered.
Creating Comics! by
Call Number: NC1764 .S25 2010
The ways of expressing a story in art are many and varied. The use of perspective, creative page layout, continuous action flowing from one panel to the next, a collage design, the use of shadow and light, and intersecting panels are all techniques for telling a story. The avenues of expression are as varied as the artists and cartoonists who express them and the book takes you on a journey to explore those approaches to artistic expression through the eyes of 42 artists.
99 Ways to Tell a Story by
Call Number: NC1764 .M33 2005
99 Ways to Tell a Story is a series of one-page comics that tell the same story in ninety-nine different ways. Inspired by Raymond Queneau's 1947 Exercises in Style, a mainstay of creative writing courses. Here is a chance to see the full scope of opportunities available to the storyteller, each applied to a single scenario: varying points of view, visual and verbal parodies, formal reimaginings, and radical shuffling of the basic components of the story. Matt's amazing series of approaches will inspire storytellers to think through and around obstacles that might otherwise prevent them from getting good ideas onto the page.
Mastering Comics by
Call Number: NC1764 .A25 2012
In this "second semester" follow-up to their widely acclaimed 2008 Drawing Words and Writing Pictures, Jessica and Matt generously bring their breath of knowledge and depth of expertise to bear on advanced topics such as story composition, coloring, and file formatting, This is a vital companion to the introductory information in their first volume and together make for the most thorough and comprehensive comics instruction available in book form.
Making Comics by
Call Number: PN6710 .M34 2006
McCloud focuses his analysis on the art form itself, exploring the creation of comics, from the broadest principles to the sharpest details (like how to accentuate a character's facial muscles in order to form the emotion of disgust rather than the emotion of surprise.) And he does all of it in his inimitable voice and through his cartoon stand-in narrator, mixing dry humor and legitimate instruction. McCloud shows his reader how to master the human condition through word and image in a brilliantly minimalistic way.
Comics - History
The Ten-Cent Plague: The Great Comic-Book Scare and How It Changed America by
Call Number: PN6725 .H33 2008
Haidu's well researched and reported account of the men and women who created the comic book, and the conservative, book burning, backlash of the 1950s that nearly destroyed it. This long-forgotten skirmish in the culture wars so seriously handicapped American comics that, half a century later the medium is only now recovering.
Call Number: PN6790.A78 G73 2017
International comics scholar Paul Gravett charts the evolution of manga from its roots in late 19th-century Japan through the many and varied forms of comics, cartoons, and animation created throughout Asia for more than 100 years. Gravett details the evolving meanings of the myths and legends told and retold by manga artists of every decade and reveals the development and cross-pollination of cultural and aesthetic ideas between manga artists throughout Asia. With infographics, maps, timelines, and reproductions from Japan, China, Taiwan, North Korea, South Korea, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Vietnam, India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, this book is the first to explain the significance of key themes, the meanings of embodied myths and the connections between various manga traditions.
Pretty in Ink by
Call Number: PN6725 .R58 2013
Robbins has spent the last thirty years recording the accomplishments of a century of women cartoonists, and Pretty in Ink is her revised, updated and rewritten history of women cartoonists. Although the comics profession was dominated by men, there were far more women working in the profession throughout the 20th century than other histories indicate, and they have flourished in the 21st. Robbins not only documents the increasing relevance of women throughout the 20th century, with mainstream creators such as Ramona Fradon and Dale Messick and alternative cartoonists such as Lynda Barry, Carol Tyler, and Phoebe Gloeckner, but the latest generation of women cartoonists--Megan Kelso, Cathy Malkasian, Linda Medley, and Lilli Carré, among many others.
Pioneering Cartoonists of Color by
Call Number: PN6725 .J285 2016
Syndicated cartoonist and illustrator Tim Jackson offers an unprecedented and well researched look at the rich yet largely untold story of African American cartoon artists. The volume covers the mid-1880s, the early years of the self-proclaimed black press, to 1968, when African American cartoon artists were accepted in the so-called mainstream. Also provides a historical record of the men and women who created seventy-plus comic strips, many editorial cartoons, and illustrations for articles and places them in full historical context. Offers an invaluable perspective on American history of the black community during pivotal moments, including the Great Migration, race riots, the Great Depression, and both World Wars.
A History of Women Cartoonists by
Call Number: PN6149.A88 F3413 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-20
A global survey and analysis of women cartoonists.
Call Number: PN6790.J33 G73 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-03
An illustrated introduction to the development and diversity of Japanese comics from 1945 to the present. Covers such themes as the specific attributes of manga in contrast to American and European comics; the life and career of Osamu Tezuka, creator of Astro Boy and originator of story manga; boys' comics from the 1960s to the present; the genres and genders of girls' and women's comics; the darker, more realistic themes of gekiga -- violent samurai, disturbing horror and apocalyptic science fiction; issues of censorship and protest; and manga's role as a major Japanese export and global influence.
Jews and American Comics by
Call Number: 9781595583314
Readers have long cherished the work of comic masters such as Will Eisner, Jules Feiffer and Art Spiegelman, all of whom happen to be Jewish. Few, however, are probably aware that the Jewish role in creating the American comic art form is no less significant than the Jewish influence on Hollywood filmmaking. Filled with the most stunning examples of this vital artistic tradition, Jews and American Comics tells us how the people of the book' became the people of the comic book.'
Men of Tomorrow by
Call Number: PN6725 .J664 2004
Comics scholar, Gerard Jones brilliantly tells the surprising story of the birth of the superhero and the comic book industry. Drawing on exhaustive research, including interviews with friends and relatives of the comics creators, Jones reveals how the immigrant experience and the collision of Yiddish and American culture-forged in the crucible of two world wars-shaped the vision of the make-believe hero. He chronicles how the comics sparked a frightened counterattack that nearly destroyed the industry in the 1950's and how later they surged back at an underground level, to inspire a new generation to transmute those long-ago fantasies into art, literature, blockbuster movies and graphic novels.
The Silver Age of Comic Book Art by
Call Number: Oversize Stacks PN6725 .S38 2003
Comics scholar Arlen Schumer highlights the careers of eight seminal Silver Age (circa 1956-1970) artists who drew definitive versions of the industry's most iconic characters while creating the tropes for the look of mainstream comic book art itself.
Comics - Critical Studies / Comics Scholarship
Bonn Online Bibliography of Comics Research
An international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields.
Comics Scholarship Bibliography - Maintained by the International Comic Arts Forum
Comics studies is a rapidly expanding interdisciplinary field, and this resource is intended to highlight recent work in English-language comics scholarship from experts working in diverse departments, fields, and institutions. Organized in two sections: one for monographs and edited collections, and another for peer-reviewed journal articles and essays from scholarly anthologies not primarily devoted to comics. Not comprehensive in scope.
The Comics Grid
The Comics Grid is an open-access, researcher-led, peer-reviewed academic journal aims to publish original and specialized contributions to the field of comics scholarship from multidisciplinary and media-specific perspectives.
ImageText is an open access scholarly journal dedicated to comics studies published by the University of Florida.
Black Comics by
Call Number: PN6725 .B56 2013
Winner of the 2014 Will Eisner Award for Best Scholarly/Academic Work. Black Comics: Politics of Race and Representation is an analytic history of the diverse contributions of Black artists to the medium of comics. Covering comic books, superhero comics, graphic novels and cartoon strips from the early 20th century to the present, the book explores the ways in which Black comic artists have grappled with such themes as the Black experience, gender identity, politics and social media.
Black Women in Sequence by
Call Number: 9780295994963
The first detailed analogize of Black women's participation in comic art, Black Women in Sequence examines the representation, production, and transnational circulation of women of African descent in the sequential art world. For more information visit the author's website: http://www.deborahelizabethwhaley.com/#!black-women-in-sequence/c65q
Drawing the Line by
Call Number: PN6710 .D67 2017
Collects some of the most important essays from INKS: Cartoon and Comic Art Studies, the first peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted exclusively to comics studies. An invaluable resource for anyone interested in the history and study of the comics form, visual culture, or the history of journalism.
Drawing New Color Lines by
Call Number: EBOOK
Explores the culture, production, and history of contemporary graphic narratives that depict Asian Americans and Asians. Will be of interest to scholars in a variety of disciplines, including Asian American studies, cultural and literary studies, comics and visual studies.
Encyclopedia of Black Comics by
Call Number: PN6707 .H69 2017
The Encyclopedia of Black Comics, focuses on people of African descent who have published significant works in the United States or have worked across various aspects of the comics industry. The book focuses on creators in the field of comics: inkers, illustrators, artists, writers, editors, Black comic historians, Black comic convention creators, website creators, archivists and academics--as well as individuals who may not fit into any category but have made notable achievements within and/or across Black comic culture.
Multicultural Comics by
Call Number: PN6714 .M85 2010
The first comprehensive look at comic books by and about race and ethnicity. The thirteen essays tease out for the general reader the nuances of how such multicultural comics skillfully combine visual and verbal elements to tell richly compelling stories that gravitate around issues of race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality within and outside the U.S. comic book industry. Includes an extensive guide to multicultural comic book resources, such as archives, websites, and scholarly books.
Reading Comics by
Call Number: PN6725 .W65 2007
Critic Douglas Wolk introduces a "critical theory that explains the newly matured comics art form, and its innovative work shaping the ideas and images of the rest of contemporary culture and shows us why this is and how it came to be and where each genre and artist fits into the pantheon of art". Highly recommended for people who want to know not just what comics are worth reading, but also the ways to think and talk and argue about them.
Comics - Aesthetic Theory
Understanding Comics by
Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1994
The bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication, McCloud's Understanding Comics is after 28 years still the seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form.
The Aesthetics of Comics by
Call Number: PN6710 .C35 2000
This is the first full-length philosophical account of the comic strip. Philosopher David Carrier looks at popular American and Japanese comic strips to identify and solve the aesthetic problems posed by comic strips and to explain the relationship of this artistic genre to other forms of visual art. He traces the use of speech and thought balloons to early Renaissance art and claims that the speech balloon defines comics as neither a purely visual nor a strictly verbal art form, but as something radically new. Comics, he claims, are essentially a composite art that, when successful, seamlessly combine verbal and visual elements. Carrier looks at the way an audience interprets comics and contrasts the interpretation of comics and other mass-culture images to that of Old Master visual art. The meaning behind the comic can be immediately grasped by the average reader, whereas a piece of museum art can only be fully interpreted by scholars familiar with the history and the background behind the painting. Finally, Carrier relates comics to art history. Ultimately, Carrier's analysis of comics shows why this popular art form is worthy of philosophical study and proves that a better understanding of comics will help us better understand the history of art.
The System of Comics by
Call Number: PN6714 .G7613 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-19
Originally published in France in 1999, Groensteen develops his own coherent, overarching theory of comics, a "system" that both builds on existing studies of the "word and image" paradigm and adds innovative approaches of his own. Examining both meaning and appreciation, the book provides a wealth of ideas that will challenge the way scholars approach the study of comics. By emphasizing not simply "storytelling techniques" but also the qualities of the printed page and the reader's engagement, the book's approach is broadly applicable to all forms of interpreting this evolving art form.
Comics - Journals and Magazines
Comics - Medical Narratives (Forthcoming 2022)
Browse the Shelves
The books in the library are arranged by topic using Call Numbers. Here are some areas to explore:
NC 1300-1766 Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
PN 6700-6790 Comic books, strips, etc. [GRAPHIC NOVELS]
Search for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
Find millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
Research Tools & Information Literacy
A guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.