Indigenous Art of the Americas: Contemporary Native Art
Indigenous Art Forms
In this guide you will find a range of resources including videos, articles, books, and links to external archives, institutions and websites that will introduce you to Indigenous artists and art history about Indigenous art and artists of North America. The art historical lens around Indigenous arts is highly contested as many Indigenous histories, arts, and cultural practices for many years were siloed to anthropological fields. For decades now, Native scholars and others have pushed forward to shine light on contemporary Indigenous arts as opposed to art that only exists in the past. The resources here are part of our growing collection of materials around Indigenous arts and art historical work, but also listed are local and national links to other institutions doing important and relevant cultural work. Feel free to e-mail us with any other suggestions you'd like to add to this guide.
fiction/poetry/prose
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Publication Date: 2015
Braiding Sweetgrass by Publication Date: 2013
When My Brother Was an Aztec by Publication Date: 2012
Ceremony by Publication Date: 2006
In Mad Love and War by Publication Date: 1990
DVDs in our Collection
Blood QuantumPublication Date: 2019
Rumble : the Indians who rocked the worldPublication Date: 2017
Atanarjuat The fast runnerPublication Date: 2002
Once Were WarriorsPublication Date: 2002
Smoke SignalsPublication Date: 1998
Native Scholars
Jennifer Nez Dennetdale is the first-ever Diné/Navajo to earn a Ph.D. in history. She is Professor of American Studies at the University of New Mexico and teaches courses in Critical Indigenous Studies, Indigenous gender and sexuality, Indigenous feminisms and gender, and Navajo Studies.
Nick Estes is a citizen of the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe. He is an Assistant Professor in the American Studies Department at the University of New Mexico.
Philip J. Deloria, Yankton Dakota and Leverett Saltonstall Professor of History at Harvard University
Henrietta Mann, is Cheyenne and Professor Emerita of Native American Studies at the University of Montana, Missoula and Montana State University, Bozeman and Founding President of the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribal College
Books
Indigenous Futurisms: Transcending Past/present/futurePublication Date: 2020
Action Abstraction Redefined: Modern Native ArtPublication Date: 2020
Connective TissuePublication Date: 2017
ManifestationsPublication Date: 2012
Shared Visions by Publication Date: 1993
Fritz ScholderPublication Date: 1982
Wendy Red StarPublication Date: 2019
Jeffrey GibsonPublication Date: 2013
Making History by Publication Date: 2020
Mapping ModernismsPublication Date: 2019
Art for an Undivided Earth by Publication Date: 2017
Visualities : Perspectives on Contemporary American Indian Film and Art by ISBN: 9780870139994Publication Date: 2011
Art of Native AmericaPublication Date: 2018A fresh exploration of Native American art that positions the work within the broader context of North American art history. The insightful texts provide a new evaluation of the art, culture, and daily life of numerous North American tribes, including Acoma, Apache, Cheyenne, Creek, Crow, Hopi-Twea, Kiowa, Lakota, Pomo, Seneca, Seminole, Tlingit, and Zuni, among others.
Native American Art: MFA HighlightsPublication Date: 2010Covering a diversity of objects from across the North American continent--from the eastern and southern Woodlands to the Northwest Pacific Coast, with a particular emphasis on the Southwest--this latest volume in the MFA Highlights series demonstrates the vast richness of American Indian art.
Spirit of Native America by Publication Date: 1989
Lectures & Video Interviews
A profile interview video of artist and designer Bunky Echo-Hawk on PBS American Masters Series
Institutional Collections
Streaming Movies
You can watch this movie Sweetheart Dancers and much more on our streaming service Kanopy available via our database list.
Publications Available via Flipster
Read current issues of Native Max Magazine via Flipster.
Current and past issues of Native American Art magazine can be read via Flipster, which you can access via our database list.
This Fall 2020 issue of Aperture magazine is available in Flipster, an application for reading magazines you can access via our database list linked in the image.
Internet Articles
Other resources, archives, podcasts, organizations etc.
Librarian
Suggest a Purchase
Use our Purchase Request Form to request library materials for purchase.