Design Archives - Digital Resources: Home

Includes more than 20,000 selections from AIGA's national juried design competitions dating back to 1924.

CSPG's collection contains domestic and international political posters and prints relating to historical and contemporary social movements.

Part of Cornell's expansive Hip Hop Collection on the origins of Hip Hop and its spread around the world.

More than 2000 punk flyers from two of Cornell's prominent collections of punk ephemera.

Focusing on 20th century illustration, the collection includes artists' working materials and sketches as well as original artwork from books, magazines, and advertising.

Collection materials available online through Flickr, plus their online publications Flat File http://flatfile.lubalincenter.com/ and The Lubalin 100 http://lubalin100.com/

Posters documenting the wartime viewpoints and diverse political sentiments of the twentieth century. Primarily composed of posters from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, Russia/Soviet Union, and France, though posters from more than eighty countries are included.

Collection of documentation and scholarship relating to the Dada movement.

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Collection of thousands of items related to lettering, typography, calligraphy, and graphic design, spanning thousands of years of history.

SVA's very own design archives. See also our Instagram for gems from our collections https://www.instagram.com/glaserarchives/

Images, text, audio, and video from The New School Archives & Special Collections,

Posters from the Italian typewriter and computer company, known for the quality of design of both its products and promotion.

A digital collection of outdoor recreation catalogs and magazines, part of the Outdoor Recreation Archive, which documents the history of outdoor gear. From Utah State University and the College of Agriculture and Applied Science's Outdoor Product Design and Development. The complete Archive is described here: https://libguides.usu.edu/outdoorrecreationarchive.

A virtual, crowd-sourced graphic design archive.

A commercial film poster gallery with a huge online database of film posters dating from the early 1900s to the present day.

Database of the SVA community's artistic response to COVID-19.

Artifacts from the Massimo and Lella Vignelli papers at the Vignelli Center for Design Studies.

Archives devoted to the rich legacy of graphic design, paper manufacturing, and printing in West Michigan.

Collection focused on North American and European art, propaganda, architecture, and industrial and graphic design dating from 1850 to 1950.

Wide-ranging design lectures organized by Civilization studio in Seattle.

Debbie Millman's long-running podcast interviews with designers, writers, artists, and curators.

Maurice Cherry's weekly showcase of Black designers, developers, and digital creatives.

Podcast about design, theory, and creative practice hosted by Jarrett Fuller.

Collection focused on the art and history of twentieth-century Italy.

Cooper Hewitt's collection spans thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design.

Selections from the museum's architecture and design collection.

Most of MAD's collection of craft, art, and design is available through their digital collections database.

The largest Swiss online database for design and art, containing more than 150,000 objects.

Many selections from their design collection are available through their online database.

Posters from the museum's vast collection.

Exhibition selections from the first museum in the US devoted solely to posters. See also Poster House's Instagram https://www.instagram.com/posterhousenyc/

A collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright works, free for all to browse, download, and reuse. New images are added every week.

A digital archive of graphic design related items that are available through the Internet Archives

Every issue of Herb Lubalin and Ralph Ginburg's magazine Avant Garde.

Beauty and hair ads, magazines, and pageant memorabilia documenting the history of Black beauty.

Political works by Black artists and activists. A smaller selection was included in the online exhibition "Black Self-Empowerment: From The Crisis to the Black Panthers, 1920s-1990s" -
https://mcbcollection.com/black-self-empowerment

Crowd-sourced database from the Urban Art Mapping Research Project.

An international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections, DTA is a hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings related to trans history.

Every issue of Herb Lubalin and Ralph Ginzburg's landmark magazines Eros.

Digitized pages from Esquire magazine dating back to its founding in 1933.

Every issue of of Herb Lubalin and Ralph Ginzburg's magazine Fact.

An independent archive of typograpy.

Crowd-sourced database from the Urban Art Mapping Research Project.

Site dedicated to documenting India's street signs, from Pooja Saxena,.

Resource to study the work of Native, Native American, First Nations, American Indian, AmerIndian, Aboriginal, Metís, Native Alaskan, Indigenous, Indígina, and Inuit people working in the field of graphic design

Free cultural and educational media on the web.

Site devoted to graphics from the 1960s and 1970s.

366 fully digitized issues of Der Sturm (The Storm), the German avant-garde magazine, 1910-1932.

Site from prolific poster collector and historian Rene Wanner.