Design

Designed for students and educators, AdForum's Creative Network (CNET) is a comprehensive library of over 200,000 award-winning ads (backdated 20 years), covering all media types and including case-studies that provide insight on a campaign’s creation. Agencies upload over 100 of their newest campaigns each week, which means that Adforum is uniquely able to provide access to the latest creative work and current trends in advertising. Ads are sourced from the 50 leading international award shows and over 100 ad agencies globally.

Comprised of Design Abstracts Retrospective, Design ProFILES and ReVIEW, provides citations and full text access to thousands of periodicals on design, designers and design history. This database was formerly known as Arts:Search.

An international index to design and applied arts journals covering both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Ebook Central's Academic Complete collection contains over 207,000 multidisciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.  

A web and app solution for complete digital magazine archives, including Aesthetica, AnOther, Another Man, Art Monthly, Cineaste, Cover, Creative Review, Dazed, Foam, and Sight & Sound. 

The complete digital, interactive edition of Josef Albers' seminal work, Interaction of Color. With an additional 60 plates from the 1963 Complete Edition, this new digital edition is also packed with elegant and innovative features that help users explore the book's essential concepts and experiment with color the way Albers intended. Users need to create a personal account to access the content.

ProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Here you will find 500-word reviews of beloved book covers - both new and old - from a range of voices around the world. New reviews will be posted irregularly and announced via @cover_review.

Art and Architecture in Video is an online streaming film collection with 690 videos containing over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.

Covers artists and movements from Impressionism in the late 19th century to the most recent works and trends. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. Subjects cover all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture and drawing.

Art Index Retrospective is an archive index (citations only) chronicling over a half a century of art literature. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it indexes hundreds of publications, plus thousands of book reviews, interviews, anthologies and more.

**Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform as of August 1, 2024** Documents artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images. Users must create a personal account.

The most comprehensive art bibliography available covering material European and American visual arts from antiquity to the modern era published between 1975 and 2007.

Flipster is a web and app solution for reading complete digital surrogates of magazines. The SVA Library subscribes to 25 current titles in Flipster: 3D World, American Craft, Animation, Aperture, ArtAsiaPacific, Art in America, Artforum International, The Atlantic, Bon Appetit, Ceramics: Art & Perception, Communication Arts, Cuartoscuro, Diva, Edge, Elle, Frame, ImagineFX, Juxtapoz, National Geographic, New American Paintings, New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, Poets and Writers, Rolling Stone, Thrasher. 

The Getty Research Institute provides access to multiple search tools that make available complete digital copies of art history texts, rare books, and related literature, high-resolution images and scans of books and archival papers, and more.

A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month. Reproduced in high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and indexing, this resource provides access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering a cultural lens into the modern era.

From the Internet Archive, the Internet Arcade is a public, web-based library of arcade (coin-operated) video games from the 1970s through to the 1990s, emulated in your browser. Containing hundreds of games ranging through many different genres and styles, the Arcade provides research, comparison, and entertainment from a slice of gaming history.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Library Stack is a database and archive of digital arts publications, including ebooks, PDFs, apps, music and video from the fields of contemporary art, critical theory, political science, sociology, architecture, urbanism, graphic design and film studies. It has a particular focus on hybrid works: experimental podcasts, custom type-faces, exhibitions bundled into .zip folders, serial journals, collaborative scholarship initiatives and artists’ software.

Thousands of video courses for software, creative, and business skills.

Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded regularly in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.

Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 12,000 items held as of Spring 2015.

Login with your SVA credentials. From Artstor's homepage, navigate to the SVA Image Library in Institutional Collections at the bottom right, or from the dropdown menu under Browse. The SVA Image Library allows users to search, retrieve, organize and teach with digital images and image data. All material in this collection is protected by copyright. Duplication and/or sale of all or any part of the collection is strictly prohibited. Material may be used for personal research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form.

This is a circulating, physical collection of images culled from all manner of print publications spanning more than 100 years. Containing over 200,000 images across 1350 subjects, the Picture Collection is a unique resource that provides sweeping visual reference and insight into the history of culture via the medium of print. Click for an index of subjects.

Vogue Archive provides full text access to Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present. Search by photographer, designer and more.

WorldCat is a union catalog of the collections of 17,900 libraries in 123 countries and territories that participate in the OCLC global cooperative. Find books, journals, movies, and more in libraries around the world.