Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books and More
Subject and Keyword searches in Prism.
To search for >Information graphics< - try: information AND graphics - or "information graphics". You can use multiple terms and phrases. Ex. "information graphics" AND design.
Search for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
Find millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
Research Tools & Information Literacy
A guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.
Information Design Books
Visual Coexistence by
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
In a globalized world, Asian, Latin and Arabic characters and visual cultures appear side by side and woven together. The coexistence of different visual cultures is now part of our daily lives and a given feature of our communication systems. But how do we best present information, structures and designs from different linguistic and cultural backgrounds? Visual communication has classically been guided by principles of uniformity and simplification, values that seem unable to adequately cope with the coexistence of different systems of representation
Beautiful Evidence by
Call Number: P93.5 .T837 2006
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Science and art have in common intense seeing, the wide-eyed observing that generates empirical information. Beautiful Evidence is about how seeing turns into showing, how empirical observations turn into explanations and evidence presentations. The book identifies excellent and effective methods for presenting information, suggests new designs, and provides tools for assessing the credibility of evidence presentations.Here we will see many close readings of serious evidence presentations-ranging through evolutionary trees and rocket science to economics, art history, and sculpture. Insistent application of the principles of analytical thinking helps both insiders and outsiders assess the credibility of evidence.
Call Number: NC997 .K65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Commissioning bespoke diagrams is an expensive and time-consuming solution. This book offers a collection of exemplary, creative, and imaginative information design, shown in its original application and juxtaposed with the reference material used for each piece of work, along with a CD of images that designers can adopt and adapt to create their own diagrams. Every design included in the book is analyzed, and clip-art features, such as arrows, flows, and boxes are also included. Diagrams offers a unique approach to the organization of information and provides fresh thinking and imaginative solutions, making this an indispensable and inspirational reference book.
History of Information Graphics
Call Number: Oversize Stacks P93.5 .R46 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-03
In the age of big data and digital distribution, when news travel ever further and faster and media outlets compete for a fleeting slice of online attention, information graphics have swept center stage. At once nuanced and neat, they distill abstract ideas, complex statistics, and cutting-edge discoveries into succinct, compelling, and masterful designs. Cartographers, programmers, statisticians, designers, scientists, and journalists have developed a new field of expertise in visualizing knowledge.
Digital Diagrams by
Call Number: HA31 .B68 2000
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Diagrams need never be boring again, thanks to this manual showing how to present statistics that carry the right message in a clear, visually entertaining way. Readers can learn how to assess the information to be conveyed to determine what needs to be stressed within a chosen format. Includes more than 100 examples of today's best diagram design. 500 full-color illustrations.
Painted Diagrams: Bauhaus, art and infographics by
Call Number: N6350 .G46 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
What is the correlation between information graphics and art?The exhibition 'Painted Diagrams' at the Museum für Konkrete Kunst in Ingolstadt is dedicated to this surprising question.Beginning with the Bauhaus, the presentation spans a bridge to contemporary art and presents around thirty positions that demonstrate the ironic and subversive, but also affirmative art of diagrams in art.Inversely, it also takes a look at the repertoire of artistic means of design that graphic designers make use of again and again as if as a matter of course.As both perspectives show: what is always involved is a cognitive process guided by an aesthetic means, behind which, in the worst case, manipulation, and, in the best case, the obtaining of genuine truth are concealed.English and German text.Accompanies the exhibition 'Painted Diagrams: Bauhaus, Art and Infographics', 31 Mar - 29 Sep 2019, Museum für Konkrete Kunst, Ingolstadt.
Call Number: NC997.A1 G76 -REFERENCE
The international annual on design and illustration.
The Information Design Handbook by
Call Number: NK1510 .V57 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
#65533; Explains the key considerations and requirements of infographics #65533; Features an inspirational gallery of designs that illustrate how to communicate at a glance, logically, effectively, and with maximum benefit #65533; Includes milestones from the history of information design that illustrate and explain breakthroughs and trends The best information design often goes "unnoticed" by the viewer because it conveys information so quickly and effectively. The Information Design Handbook celebrates graphics that are exemplars of communication and esthetics, and reveals the thought processes and design skills behind them. This comprehensive guide to creating information graphics is packed with essential design principles, case studies, color palettes, trouble-shooting tips, and much more. Designers will learn to achieve graphics that are visually striking yet concise and supremely funcitional with this must-have resource.
Information Design Workbook by
Call Number: NC997 .B24 2008
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
New in paperback, this workbook is a methodical yet comprehensive approach to conveying the fundamentals of avant-garde, innovative, information design by examining history, theory, criticism, technology and media, process, method, and practice. Opening with a very brief history followed by an instructive breakdown of the discipline, readers get an intimate understanding of the complexities of crafting information design to effectively improve communication both functionally and aesthetically. The back half of the book contains a wide range of case studies from design firms around the world so designers can see the techniques previously outlined in the first half of the book. The author also critiques and explains why the design is successful in terms of formal quality (Aesthetics) and function (How does it improve communication?).
Information Graphics by
Call Number: P93.5 .W56 1999
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Presents a wide-ranging international selection of the best examples of designs that make businesses & cities run smoothly, from transportation systems to maps & electronics manuals, as well as informed commentary on why the designs are successful.
Information Graphics by
Call Number: QA90 .H29 1999
Publication Date: 2000-01-06
This beautifully illustrated book is the first complete handbook to visual information. Well written, easy to use, and carefully indexed, it describes the full range of charts, graphs, maps, diagrams, and tables used daily to manage, analyze, and communicate information. It features over 3,000illustrations, making it an ideal source for ideas on how to present information. It is an invaluable tool for anyone who writes or designs reports, whether for scientific journals, annual reports, or magazines and newspapers.
Pictograms, Icons and Signs by
Call Number: P93.5 A23 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-13
Pictograms and icons are a keystone of nonverbal and multicultural communication. But what precisely are pictograms, and when is it appropriate to use them? What are their advantages? What rules must be followed, and what are the pitfalls that designers of pictograms and icons must take care to avoid?Drawing on a multitude of examples from around the world, the authors outline the history of the pictogram and show how it has been used in commercial and creative fields over the past century, as well as offering invaluable hints and advice to designers.
Picturing the Uncertain World by
Call Number: Q375 .W35 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-26
In his entertaining and informative book Graphic Discovery, Howard Wainer unlocked the power of graphical display to make complex problems clear. Now he's back with Picturing the Uncertain World, a book that explores how graphs can serve as maps to guide us when the information we have is ambiguous or incomplete. Using a visually diverse sampling of graphical display, from heartrending autobiographical displays of genocide in the Kovno ghetto to the "Pie Chart of Mystery" in a New Yorker cartoon, Wainer illustrates the many ways graphs can be used--and misused--as we try to make sense of an uncertain world.
Signage and Wayfinding Design by
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Signage and Wayfinding Design is a comprehensive and accessible resource that enables readers to apply a standard, proven design process to large and small projects in an efficient and systematic manner. Environmental graphic design is the development of a systematic, visually cohesive graphic communication system for a given site within the built environment. Increasingly recognized as a contributor to well-being, safety and security in unfamiliar and high-stress environments, EGD is also being used to extend and reinforce the brand experience.
Signage Systems and Information Graphics by
Call Number: NK8643.45 .U34 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
The author calls on his own wealth of design experience to explore signage as a point where graphic design and architecture come together. The book showcases great examples of signage design worldwide, ranging from museums and schools to transport systems, with an emphasis on the most original approaches to tackling the task.
Visual Language for Designers by
Call Number: P93.5 .M35 2009
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Within every picture is a hidden language that conveys a message, whether it is intended or not. This language is based on the ways people perceive and process visual information. By understanding visual language as the interface between a graphic and a viewer, designers and illustrators can learn to inform with accuracy and power. In a time of unprecedented competition for audience attention and with an increasing demand for complex graphics, Visual Language for Designers explains how to achieve quick and effective communications.
The Wayfinding Handbook by
Call Number: NC1002.S54 G53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-04
Where am I? What can I do here? Where can I go from here? How do I get out of here? Consciously or not, we ask such questions every day as we navigate the places and spaces of our lives. Whether we find ourselves in a museum, hospital, airport, mall, or street in an unfamiliar city, we depend on systems of visual, audible, and tactile cues not only to lead the way, but also to keep us safe.
, Art History & Criticism
, Computer Art
, Humanities & Social Sciences
, Language & Literature
, News & Current Events
, Science & Health