Archives
Research Guides
Librarian
Archivist
SVA Archives / Glaser Archives
- SVA ArchivesThe SVA Archives, located in the SVA Library, is unique resource to study the history of SVA, from its subway poster campaign, to its groundbreaking exhibitions by professional and student artists, to the incredible faculty and programs dating back its founding in 1947. Materials in the SVA Archives collections include posters, announcements, departmental and student publications, photographs, and other printed ephemera and artifacts, dating back to its founding in 1947. The Archives is open to everyone; all you need to do is make an appointment.
- Milton Glaser Design Study Center & ArchivesThe Milton Glaser Design Study Center and Archives, located in the SVA Library, is a unique resource to study the work of the great designers, illustrators and art directors who’ve taught and studied at SVA. Our collections allow you to examine the design process, from conception to completion, through original sketches, artwork, and photographs, as well as the final posters and publications, from more than twenty (and counting) designers and artists. The Archives is open to everyone; all you need to do is make an appointment.
Reinhold Brown Poster Collection
The Reinhold Brown Poster Collection at the SVA Library consists of almost 500 titles on the history of poster design, including many rare, out of print and hard to find titles. The collection was assembled over many years by Susan Reinhold and Robert Brown as reference to support the Reinhold Brown Gallery, the first in New York to specialize in rare 20th century poster art and graphic design. The collection includes a wealth of Art Nouveau and Art Deco material as well as important publications about the Modern poster movement in Poland.
A brief selection of titles from the Reinhold Brown Poster Collection is below.
Search the catalog to find more:
Art Deco-Posters and Graphics by Call Number: NC1845.A68 A77 1977 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9780847801107Publication Date: 1978-02-01
Kire, Plakate aus Japan 1978-1993 [Kirei, Posters from Japan 1978-1993]Call Number: NC1807.J3 K57 1993 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9783905514025Publication Date: 1993
Les Affiches de la Glasnost et de la Perestroika [Posters of Glasnost and Perestroika] by Call Number: NC1807.S65 .A34 1989 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9782080100368Publication Date: 1989?
One Hundred Years of Circus Posters by Call Number: GV1816 .R46 1974 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9780380001446Publication Date: 1974-01-01
A Separate Cinema by Call Number: PN1995.9.P5 K57 1992 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9780374523602Publication Date: 1992-11-01
Travel Posters by Call Number: NC1849.T68 H54 1976 Reinhold BrownISBN: 071481623XPublication Date: 1976
The Triumph of Art Nouveau : Paris Exhibition, 1900 by Call Number: N6850 .J8413 1974bISBN: 9780714816067Publication Date: 1974
Word + Image : Swiss Poster Design, 1955-1997 by Call Number: NC1807.S9 N86 1998 Reinhold BrownISBN: 9781888378023Publication Date: 1998
Library Resources
- Prism CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
- A-Z DatabasesFind millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
- Research Tools & Information LiteracyA guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.
Related Guides
The History of the Poster
- The History of the Poster: a Bibliographical and Online SurveyAn annotated bibliographical and internet survey of the history of the poster. Contains details of nearly 7,000 books, journal articles, exhibition and sale catalogues, theses and conference reports, as well as links to tens of thousands of images of posters that are free to access online.
On the Web
- bildindexGerman art, architecture and design database that includes German posters, political cartoons and advertisements. German-language interface (will auto-translate in Chrome). Search for posters using the keyword "plakat."
- Guide to Poster Design (The New School)A list of poster collections at museums, schools, and other institutions that are available online.
- Guide to Arabic Film Posters (Princeton University)Princeton University Library’s Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection was acquired in Lebanon in 2008 and is comprised of 1,748 posters and 768 lobby cards. The Lobby Cards Collection and the Poster Collection is accessible to scholars and students through the Princeton University Digital Library.
- Guide to Posters of Taishō-Early Shōwa Japan (USC)A collection of 45 Japanese posters from the Taishō-early Shōwa era held by East Asian Library at USC. View high resolution from the the USC Digital Library.
- The VIsual Front: Posters of the Spanish Civil War (UCSD)From UCSD's Southworth Collection. All the posters from the Spanish Civil War in the Southworth Collection belong to the Republican side. The selection of forty-two posters presented here constitutes a representative sample of Republican propaganda. It includes images that deal with most of the themes that dominated the minds of contemporaries. Many of the posters were produced by some of the most important organizations and institutions active in the war, and they were designed by some of the leading artists of the era.
- Performing Arts Posters (Library of Congress)The approximately 2,100 posters in the Library of Congress' online Performing Arts Posters category represent the entire contents of three collections: the Magic Poster Collection, the Minstrel Poster Collection, and the Theatrical Poster Collection.
Films
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
