Finding Books
The Visual Arts Library has an extensive collection of books on typography. Use the library catalog, VISION, to locate resources on the shelves. The following are subject headings that will guide you to typography books:
TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING
TYPE DESIGNERS
PRINTING SPECIMENS
GRAPHIC DESIGN (TYPOGRAPHY)
Related Subject Headings:
ADVERTISING LAYOUT AND TYPOGRAPHY
ALPHABETS
BOOK DESIGN
COMMERCIAL ART
GRAPHIC ARTS
LAYOUT (PRINTING)
LETTERING
PRINTERS
PRINTING
TYPESETTING
Typography Books
The following are Reference (REF) and Circulating (MAIN) books that are standards in the field of typography:
Blackwell, Lewis. Twentieth-Century Type Z250 A2 B57 2004 MAIN
Bringhurst, Robert. The Elements of Typographic Style Z246 .B74 2004 MAIN
Carter, Rob. American Typography Today Z208 C37 1993 Main
Eason, Ron. Rookledge’s International Handbook of Type Designers Z250 A2 E27 1991 Main
Friedl, Fredrich, et. al. Typography: An Encyclopedic Survey of Type Z250 A2 F74 1998 Main
Gates, David. Type Z250 G24 REF
Graphis Digital Fonts Z250.7 G734 REF
Hinrichs, Kit. Typewise Z246 H55 1990 Main
Jaspert, W. Pincus. The Encyclopaedia of Type Faces Z250 J36 1983 REF
Meggs, Philip B. A History of Graphic Design, 4th edition Z246 .M43 2006 Main
Meggs, Philip B. Type and Image: The Language of Graphic Design Z246 M44 1992 Main
Eason, Ron. Rookledge’s International Typefinder Z250. A2 E27 1991 Main
Rosendorf, Theodore. The Typographic Desk Reference Z118.5 .R67 2009 REF
Ruder, Emil. Typographie Z244 R8613 1981 Main
Type: The Best in Digital Classic Text Fonts (Graphis) Z250.7 T96 1995 REF
Typography : the annual of the of the Type Directors Club Z119.5 T82 REF
V & M Typographical. The Type Specimen Book Z250 V115 1974 Main
Wallis, Lawrence W. Modern Encyclopedia of Typefaces, 1960-1990 Z250 W238 1990 Main
Zapf, Herman. Typographic Variations Z250 Z34 REF
Type Specimens
Magazines and Journals
Magazines and journals are great sources for current and historical information. For articles on typography, it’s best to start with the indexes DesignIndex , ARTbibliographies Modern and Art Full Text.
The following is a list
of magazines and journals on typography and graphic design available at the
Visual Arts Library:
Baseline*
Critique
Communication Arts
Design Book Review: DBR
Design Issues
Emigre
Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design
Graphis
Guild News
How
Modo
Print
Serif*
Step-By-Step Electronic Design, now SBS Digital Design
Step-By-Step Graphics, now Step Inside Design
U & lc
*Exclusively typography
On the Web
Baseline - http://www.baselinemagazine.com/
Emigre - http://www.emigre.com/
Fontsite - http://www.fontsite.com
IdentiFont - http://www.identifont.com/
Type Index - http://www.typeindex.org
TypeReview.com - http://www.typereview.com/
U&lc Online - http://www.itcfonts.com/Ulc/
My Profile |
Collection Links
Search our Catalog for books, movies, magazines and more in the library
Databases - find millions of articles and images using our e-resources
Research Tools - get help doing research, citing sources and more
Typography Magazines
& Full text available from Business & Company Resource Center: 01/01/2002 to present











Loading...
