New York City: Images
Open Web Resources
The New York Public Library has a whole section of digital collections specifically about New York City. There are photographs, atlases, records, directories, maps and postcards.
Check out the Digital Archives Section of the Archives & Museums tab for more images like historic photographs, images of historic objects, digitized documents and primary source material.
Artstor Image Groups
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
An image database that provides access to high resolution images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research and come with high-quality metadata from the collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves.
Artstor is also a great tool for organizing high resolution images of art objects into groups. The following links are groups curated by SVA faculty members, but you can also organize images into groups as well. More info on how here.
Artstor Public Collections
Artstor also has public collections of images curated by Institutions. You can find them in Artstor under the Browse heading and Public Collections. Here are some relevant examples:
- Dominicans in New Yorka display highlighting the experiences and contributions of the New York Dominican population using primary source materials from the archival collections of the Dominican Archives as well as secondary source materials from the Dominican Library at CUNY
- Museum of the City of New YorkImages from the Museum's Prints, Drawings, and Photographs Collection recording the history of New York City from the late 19th century through the late 20th century.
- New-York Historical Society: Museum & LibraryAmerican art in varied media and historical photographs
- The City College of New YorkAncient artifacts, murals, and prints, drawings, photographs and paintings from the 19th and 20th centuries, with some contemporary art
Picture Collection at SVA
Our circulating and browsable picture collection has many unique images related to New York City you may never turn up in a regular Google Search. Visit the Main Library to browse the subject headings below:
-
NEW YORK CITY Boroughs
-
NEW YORK CITY Central Park
-
NEW YORK CITY General
-
NEW YORK CITY Pre-1900
-
NEW YORK CITY 1900-1949
-
NEW YORK CITY 1950-Pre 9/11/2001
-
NEW YORK CITY 9/11/2001
-
NEW YORK CITY Post 09/11/2001
-
NEW YORK CITY Maps
-
NEW YORK CITY Monuments
Access a complete list of subject heading here.
Request an Image
Can't find an image of a specific artist or artwork on Artstor or Jstor? Fill out the image request form to request an addition to the SVA Library Image Database.