| Main Library | 8:30am – 6pm |
|---|---|
| Library West | 8:30am – 6pm |
| Main Library | 8:30am – 6pm |
|---|---|
| Library West | 8:30am – 6pm |
This guide was created to support the HCD1020 courses and can be embedded in your canvas account. As different instructors develop their own styles and methods of teaching this course, we are here to help you find specialized resources that tie into your instruction. The boxes below are examples of resources from across the collection that can be used to support various pedagogical approaches. Looking for materials for your class? We're happy to help! Contact us at library@sva.edu.
Kitchen Confidential by 
How to Cook a Wolf by 
A Day at ElBulli by ACT UP, founded in March of 1987, is a diverse, non-partisan group of individuals, united in anger and committed to direct action to end the AIDS crisis. The ACT UP Oral History Project is an archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is dedicated to collecting and preserving history pertaining to the lesbian community. Their Audio/Visual Collection contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral herstory cassettes in the Archives’ Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.
Our Streets Our Stories (OSOS) is an ongoing oral history project. We seek to explore the Brooklyn that is and the Brooklyn that was, from the words of the community that lives here.
The Poetry Project Archive offers one of the largest collections of recorded poetry and literature in the country featuring live readings by poets and writers from 1966 to the present ranging from Robert Lowell to John Cage, Amiri Baraka to Alice Walker, Allen Ginsberg to Billy Collins to Jessica Hagedorn.
Unlike Academic Video Online, which is a set package of films and videos that the library subscribes to, we purchase annual licenses on Kanopy and Swank. Swank's entire academic streaming collection is searchable, but Kanopy's is not. As annual per-film licenses are quite expensive, please only request content that is required for a class. Use this form to request that a film be added to our Kanopy or Swank libraries. Also, remember that these licenses expire (or are even removed from the services altogether). Please make a digital request ahead of each semester so we can make sure that the content will be available
Would you like to meet one-on-one with a librarian to explore resources that support your course? Or have a librarian meet with your students to give them a tour of resources tailored to an assignment? Those are just two of the ways we're here to support your instruction. Follow this link to learn more about scheduling a library instruction session or contact us at library@sva.edu.
The Proquest Research Companion is a self-guided information literacy course that focuses on information seeking behaviors as they relate to writing a research essay. Interspersing videos and short quizzes, the course takes students from topic selection to final revisions and includes sections on source evaluation and plagiarism. Students and instructors can take the course informally or you can choose to make it a requirement. If you make it a requirement, the library can add a module to your course in Canvas that includes an introduction and directions for submitting assessment data. Use our instruction form to make a request.
