Qualitative Research and Methodology: Home
Resources
This research guide is here to support students at the School of Visual Arts in developing qualitative research methods. It consists of resources from across the library collections, including research databases, ebooks, books, articles, and streaming videos. This is just a selection of the resources that the library has available for you. If you're ever wondering where to start - or how to continue - your research, the SVA librarians are here to help! Contact us here.
Article & Ebook Databases
The following databases contain both scholarly articles and ebooks that may be useful for your research. You can find a short description of each database below.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central's Academic Complete collection contains over 207,000 multidisciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center database of the U.S. Department of Education, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on: Mental illness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full text scholarly database of 2,800 multidisciplinary journal titles focused on the arts, humanities and social sciences. **Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform as of August 1, 2024** Artstor images document artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images. Users must create a personal account.
- ProQuest Central Ejournals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central contains ~30,000 journals across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, plus thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the National Institutes of Health, PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Research Guides
The SVA library has a number of additional related guides that may support you in your research:
Ebooks
This is just a selection of ebooks that can be found in Ebook Central Academic Complete. Just log in with your SVA credentials to begin searching your topic!
Empowering Students As Self-Directed Learners of Qualitative Research Methods by Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods by Publication Date: 2015
Protecting Participants and Facilitating Social and Behavioral Sciences Research by Publication Date: 2003
Qualitative Research in Action by ISBN: 9781412932875Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Qualitative Research Methods for Psychologists by ISBN: 9780080454122Publication Date: 2011-04-28
Qualitative Research Methods in Mental Health and Psychotherapy by ISBN: 9780470663738Publication Date: 2011-07-25
Writing Resource Center
- SVA Writing Resource CenterThe Writing Resource Center at the SVA is here to support students in developing the skills they need to convey their ideas clearly, creatively, and analytically.
Books on the Shelves
Find the following books on the shelves at the Main Library and Library West. Or try your own search in the the library catalog here.
Basics of Qualitative Research by ISBN: 0803959397Publication Date: 1998-09-29
How to Use Qualitative Methods in Evaluation by ISBN: 0803931298Publication Date: 1987-12-01
Interviewing Users by ISBN: 9781933820118Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Introduction to Art Therapy Research by ISBN: 9781138912847Publication Date: 2017-08-10
Methods and Methodologies for Art Education by ISBN: 0937652970Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Qualitative Research for Education by ISBN: 0205482937Publication Date: 2006-07-25
Streaming Videos
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
The following videos - and many others - can be found in the streaming video database Academic Video Online.
- An Introduction to Qualitative ResearchJamie A. Dyce & Uzma Williams
- The Practice of Member Review in Qualitative ResearchCenter for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis
- Tips and Traps for Publishing Qualitative ResearchCenter for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis
Yale School of Medicine
In 2019, the Yale School of Medicine published The Fundamentals of Qualitative Research Methods, a series of six video modules led by Dr. Leslie Curry, PhD, MPS. Click here to for the full playlist on YouTube.
Articles
Here are some examples or articles that can be found in the library's online article databases mentioned in the "Article & Ebook databases" above.
- Qualitative StudyTenny, S., Brannan, J. M., & Brannan, G. D. (2022). Qualitative Study. StatPearls Publishing. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK470395/
- How to Do Qualitative Research?: Qualitative Research MethodsDenny, E., & Weckesser, A. (2022). How to do qualitative research?: Qualitative research methods. Bjog, 129(7), 1166-1167. doi:https://doi.org/10.1111/1471-0528.17150
- Improving Reporting on Qualitative Methods Used in the Development and Validation of Patient-Reported Outcome Measures for Mental Health ConcernsSamuel, V., Arora, R., & Virk, P. (2022). Improving Reporting on Qualitative Methods Used in the Development and Validation of Patient-Reported Outcome Measures for Mental Health Concerns. Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A718246206/HRCA?u=nysl_me_sova&sid=bookmark-HRCA&xid=c0eaa39c
- Qualitative Longitudinal Research in Health Research: A Method StudyAudulv, Ã., Hall, E. O. C., Kneck, Ã., Westergren, T., Fegran, L., Pedersen, M. K., Aagaard, H., Dam, K. L., & Ludvigsen, M. S. (2022). Qualitative longitudinal research in health research: a method study. BMC Medical Research Methodology, 22(1), NA. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A720529796/HRCA?u=nysl_me_sova&sid=bookmark-HRCA&xid=25490d54
- Qualitative Research Methods I: Emotionally Engaged Approaches to Working with Vulnerable ParticipantsButcher, M. (2022). Qualitative research methods I: Emotionally engaged approaches to working with vulnerable participants. Progress in Human Geography, 46(3), 907-914. doi:https://doi.org/10.1177/03091325221083212
- Templates in Qualitative Research Methods: Origins, Limitations, and New DirectionsKöhler Tine, Smith, A., & Vikram, B. (2022). Templates in qualitative research methods: Origins, limitations, and new directions. Organizational Research Methods, 25(2), 183-210. doi:https://doi.org/10.1177/10944281211060710