Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SVA Library Resources
Prism Search This link opens in a new window
Search all of the library's physical and most of the library's digital holdings at once.
Books on Research Topics
Search the catalog to find more:
SVA's Writing Resource Center
Located in SVA's building at 132 West 21st Street, 9th Floor, the Writing Resource Center has writing and ESL tutors available via appointment and walk-in.
Purdue Online Writing Lab
A comprehensive guide to research, writing, and citing from Purdue University.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab
A comprehensive guide to research, writing and citing from Excelsior College.
Information Literacy Course on Lynda.com
This is a comprehensive information literacy course that includes modules on Types of Resources, Search Strategies, Resource Evaluation, Ethical Use of Information, Citation, and Information Literacy for Art & Design.
Information Literacy Guide
From Stony Brook University.
Comparing Magazines and Journals
A side-by-side listing the traits of each.
SVA's Academic Policy Handbook
For plagiarism, see the chapter "Standards, Procedures, Policies and Regulations"
Part of Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, this section is a detailed guide on what does and does not constitute plagiarism, help on deciding when to give credit and determining common knowledge, plus exercises.
Academic Integrity Quiz
Test your knowledge of academic integrity - from Empire State College.
A basic guide to copyright and fair use for faculty at the School of Visual Arts.
U.S. Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office website is a good, introductory source of information about U.S. copyright law and how to register a work. From the site, you can download forms (many of which you can complete online before you print them out), instructions, legislative information, and primers on the Copyright Act and how it applies to different types of works.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts
From the College Art Association, the Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts is based on a consensus of professionals in the visual arts who use copyrighted images, texts, and other materials in their creative and scholarly work and who, through discussion groups, identified best practices for using such materials. They included art and architectural historians, artists, designers, curators, museum directors, educators, rights and reproduction officers, and editors at scholarly publishers and journals.
Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
Created by Peter B. Hirtle at Cornell University, this chart details copyright rules for types of works and dates of publications in the United States. This is not legal advice, but a guide to determining whether a work is still in copyright.
3 Myths You Should Know About Copyright for Your Classroom
Once you’ve reviewed this sheet, you’ll be able to:
· Recognize commonly held misconceptions about copyright and spot issues in your own course material workflows.
· Better understand the impact that your workflows have on your students and your school.
· Locate campus and general resources that will help you make improvements and enhancements.
From Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, this section provides information on evaluating bibliographic citations, aspects of evaluation, reading evaluation, print vs. Internet sources, and evaluating Internet sources.
Internet Evaluation Form
Use this form as an exercise in evaluating the scholarly value of a website or internet resource - from UC Berkeley.
Evaluating Web Content
This guide offers tips for evaluating the quality of content on the Web. The Web is a rich environment of Web pages, blogs, wikis, social networking sites, free research services, media types and more. It can be a challenge to figure out which content to trust. This guide will help you to identify the type of site you are visiting and to evaluate its content. From SUNY Albany.
Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
A complete digital version of the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th and 17th editions.
Citation Style Guides
Examples of different citation styles - Chicago, APA, MLA, Turabian, and AMA. From LIU Post.
A citation guide from Western Michigan University.
Research and Citation Resources
Part of Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, this section provides guides to research and citation using APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. Includes a Word plugin to pull in citations while you write and generate a bibliography. View "Documentation" for a quick start guide.
Automatic citation maker for all sources, print and web.
Online Reference Resources
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary or OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
Oxford Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of art history and visual culture. The entries are regularly updated and expanded by scholars and specialists.