Anatomy for Artists: Home
Illustrated Anatomy 1979, Anatomy folder, SVA Library Picture Collection
Picture Collection
- SVA Library Picture Collection Database This link opens in a new window
This is a circulating, physical collection of images culled from all manner of print publications spanning more than 100 years. Containing over 200,000 images across 1350 subjects, the Picture Collection is a unique resource that provides sweeping visual reference and insight into the history of culture via the medium of print. Click for an index of subjects.
Some folders to start with:
Anatomy
Anatomy--Animals
Anatomy--Eyes
Anatomy--Hands
Anatomy--Nervous System
Skeletons
Databases
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
**Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform as of August 1, 2024** Documents artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images. Users must create a personal account.
- Colourbox This link opens in a new window
Stock image source with hundreds of thousands of royalty-free photographs, vector images, and videos for use in your projects. Try searching "model poses." Create an account with your SVA email address. Contact library@sva.edu for the current educational key. - New York Academy of Medicine Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Collections of digitized items from the New York Academy of Medicine, including rare books and manuscripts, pharmaceutical trade cards, prints, medical illustrations and engravings, botanical prints, and more.
Books & DVDs
Anatomy for 3D Artists by Publication Date: 2015
Anatomy for Artists by Publication Date: 2007
Anatomy for Sculptors by Publication Date: 2014
Anatomy for the Artist by Publication Date: 2001
Anatomy Lessons by Publication Date: 1977
Artistic Anatomy by Publication Date: 1986
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Publication Date: 2014
Basic Human Anatomy by Publication Date: 2016
Classic Human Anatomy by Publication Date: 2009
Color Atlas of Anatomy by Publication Date: 2006
The Complete Book of Poses for Artists by Publication Date: 2017
Drawing People: How to Portray the Clothed Figure by Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia Anatomica: A Selection of Anatomical Wax Models by Publication Date: 2001
Expressive Anatomy for Comics and Narrative by Publication Date: 2008
The Fabric of the Human Body by Publication Date: 2013
Facial Expressions by Publication Date: 2005
Facial Expressions Babies to Teens by Publication Date: 2008
Gray's Anatomy by Publication Date: 1995
Human Anatomy for Artists by Publication Date: 2000
The Human Figure by Publication Date: 1977
Photographic Atlas of the Body by Publication Date: 2004
Animal Anatomy for Artists by Publication Date: 2004
Animal Anatomy on File by Publication Date: 1999
Animal Painting and Anatomy by Publication Date: 1975
The Artist's Guide to Animal Anatomy by Publication Date: 2004
An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists by Publication Date: 1956
The Principles of Creature Design by Publication Date: 2015
Science of Creature Design by Publication Date: 2015
Anatomy for Artists: the Human Form Revealed [DVD] by Publication Date: 2007
Anatomy for Artists: the Human Head [DVD] by Publication Date: 2004
Librarian
Library Resources
- Prism CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
- A-Z DatabasesFind millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
- Research Tools & Information LiteracyA guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.