It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
by Eric Ingram
Last Updated Dec 2, 2022
850 views this year
Movies, Scripts & Streaming
The SVA Library owns over 20,000 film titles on DVD and Blu-ray, including a large selection of animated films.
The library also has well over 1,000 unpublished shooting film scripts, which appear in various draft stages and sometimes include annotations from the writer. Our main book collection also has a large collection of commercially published scripts.
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
Magazines and Journals
Magazines and journals are great sources for current and historical information. For articles on film and animation, it’s best to start with these indexes:
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1993 with full or short records for films from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.
A full text scholarly database of 150 titles focused on the arts and humanities. The Arts & Sciences III collection includes articles from journals on the history and study of art and architecture, film studies, language and literature, music, folklore, performing arts, and religion.
The following is a list of magazines and journals on animation and related fields available at the SVA Library:
Computer Graphics World (CGW)
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Reviews in the Library:
Looking for an original review of an older movie? Check the index of the collections below, or look up the release date in a source like IMDB.com to locate reviews:
Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.