Film: Home
Librarian
Library Resources
- Prism CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, movies, articles, magazines, images and more in the SVA Library.
- A-Z DatabasesFind millions of articles and images using our e-resources.
- Research Tools & Information LiteracyA guide to doing research, evaluating sources, writing, citing, plagiarism, and copyright.
Related Guide
Films & Film Scripts
The SVA Library owns 10,000 film titles on DVD and Blu-ray, and the Film Library owns over 15,000 titles.
The library also has well over 1,000 unpublished shooting film scripts, which appear in various draft stages and sometimes include annotations from the writer. Our main book collection also has a large collection of commercially published scripts.
All can be searched from the Library Catalog.
The library also subscribes to many streaming film collections:
- Cinema Guild Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 140 streaming films. Since 1968, the Cinema Guild has been a distributor of both documentary and fiction films, including narrative features and shorts. Internationally acclaimed filmmakers who have released films through the Cinema Guild include Claire Denis, Jacques Rivette, Agnès Varda, Pedro Costa, Béla Tarr, Hong Sang-soo, Alexander Sokurov, and Nuri Bilge Ceylan.
- EAI Educational Streaming This link opens in a new window
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. Full-length streaming videos are available for over 60 artists, with more being added.
- Film Platform Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 674 streaming films. Film Platform is an innovative collaboration between leading filmmakers and film distributors from around the world bringing the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Our global selection of films includes many Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners.
- First Run Features Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 149 streaming films. First Run Features is an independent film distribution company based in New York City.
- Grasshopper Film Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 134 streaming films. Grasshopper is a distribution company dedicated to the release of independent, foreign, and documentary film. Founded in December 2015 by Ryan Krivoshey.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad, curated selection of documentaries, indie movies, classics, feature films and training videos. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by current students, faculty, and staff.
- Oscilloscope Pictures Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 190 streaming films. Oscilloscope (also known as Oscilloscope Laboratories) is an independent film company and distributor founded by Adam Yauch and former THINKFilm executive David Fenkel. It also has a recording studio and film production facilities.
- Silent Film Online Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 309 streaming silent films, including films by Charlie Chaplin, Georges Melies, Fernand Léger and more.
- Sony Pictures Classic Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 390 streaming films. Sony Pictures Classics is an American film production and distribution company that is a division of Sony Pictures. It distributes, produces and acquires specialty films such as documentaries, independent and art films in the United States and internationally.
- Swank This link opens in a new window
Swank is a streaming film platform with a curated list of available films from major motion picture studios.
- The Video Project Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 211 streaming films. Founded in 1983, the Video Project's mission is to provide the best media programming available on critical social and global issues to classrooms and communities to help advance awareness and encourage action on the most important concerns of our times.
Finding Books About Film at the SVA Library
The SVA Library has many books on film and animation. Some subject searches to try are:
For general books on films and filmmaking:
CINEMATOGRAPHY (for the technical aspects of making motion pictures)
MOTION PICTURE ACTORS AND ACTRESSES
MOTION PICTURE AUTHORSHIP (for screenwriting)
MOTION PICTURE INDUSTRY
MOTION PICTURES
MOTION PICTURES HISTORY
Magazines and Journals
Magazines and journals are great sources for current and historical information. For articles on film and animation, it’s best to start with these indexes:
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Provides cover to cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full text scholarly database of 2,800 multidisciplinary titles focused on the arts, humanities and social sciences.
The following is a list of magazines and journals on film and animation available at the SVA Library:
American Cinematographer
Aspect*
AV Video Multimedia Producer
Camera Obscura
CGW
Cineaste
Cinefantastique
Cinefex
Cinema Journal
Computer Arts
Creative Screenwriting
Digital Video (DV)
Entertainment Design
Entertainment Weekly
Film & History
Film Comment
Film Journal International
Film Quarterly
Filmmaker
Independent Film & Video Monthly
Interview
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Journal of Short Film*
Literature Film Quarterly
Millennium
Millimeter
Moviemaker
Post
Quarterly Review of Film & Video
Res
Rue Morgue
Sight & Sound
Stash*
StudentFilmMakers
Wholphin
*DVD periodicals
Finding Film Reviews
Film Reviews in the Library:
Looking for an original review of an older movie? Check the index of the collections below, or look up the release date in a source like IMDB.com to locate reviews:
- The New York Times Film Encyclopedia, 1896-1979Call Number: PN1993.45.N4 ReferenceISBN: 0812910591Publication Date: 1984-06-12
- Variety Film Reviews - 1907-1995Call Number: PN1995 .V34 Reference
Film Reviews through eResources:
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Search this database for full text access to major national newspapers including the New York Times from 1985 to present. Includes over 2,300 full-text newspapers.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly Art Source. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including painting, photography, sculpture advertising art, art history, film, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, folk art, textiles and more. Full text access to over 630 art and design journals with coverage from 1929 to the present.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Provides cover to cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.