SVA Library Research Guides: Online Resources and Services: Images

Main Library	8:30am – 6pm
Library West	8:30am – 6pm

Please note that resources in subscription databases may be accessed from anywhere by current SVA students, faculty and staff. Alumni have onsite access at the Main SVA Library, and CE students do not have access.

A full list of image databases can be found here.

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
**Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform as of August 1, 2024** Documents artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 2+ million images. Users must create a personal account.
The Artstor platform will be discontinued in August 2024 and all content will be available in JSTOR.
Colourbox This link opens in a new window
Stock image source with hundreds of thousands of royalty-free photographs, vector images, and videos for use in your projects. Create an account with your SVA email address. Contact library@sva.edu for the current educational key.

MHz Curationist
A free online platform for collecting and sharing open access images of art and artifacts established by the non-profit organization MHz Foundation, this site features 4.4 million public domain images from nine museums: The Smithsonian, Cleveland Museum of Art, Rijksmuseum, Brooklyn Museum, Statens Museum for Kunst, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Walters Art Museum, Art Institute of Chicago, and National Gallery of Art. While these digital collections may be available on each institution’s website, Curationist is an aggregate repository in a single space.

SVA Image Library This link opens in a new window
Login with your SVA credentials. From Artstor's homepage, navigate to the SVA Image Library in Institutional Collections at the bottom right, or from the dropdown menu under Browse. The SVA Image Library allows users to search, retrieve, organize and teach with digital images and image data. All material in this collection is protected by copyright. Duplication and/or sale of all or any part of the collection is strictly prohibited. Material may be used for personal research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive provides full text access to Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present. Search by photographer, designer and more.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month. Reproduced in high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and indexing, this resource provides access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering a cultural lens into the modern era.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Over 500,000 images from the New York Public Library's image collection.
Louvre Database This link opens in a new window
The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums